What is CCNA?

CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) is a certification from Cisco, the world’s most famous company for manufacturing and selling networking equipment. . CCNA certification is an associate-level Cisco Career certification. CCNA certification is the first step in preparing for a career in IT technologies. To earn CCNA certification, one must pass one exam that covers a broad range of fundamentals for IT careers, based on the latest networking technologies, software development skills, and job roles. CCNA gives you the foundation you need to take your career in any direction. This certification helps you to become familiar with a wide range of topics, such as:

  • LAN/WAN –   TCP/IP model
  • Switches and routers –   Network utilities (ping, tracer, arp)
  • IP addressing and sub-netting –   VLANs and trunking
  • Routing protocols such as OSPF –   WLAN
  • NAT and ACLs –   Automation and programmability

Course Content:

1) Network Fundamentals :-                        20% weight in exam 

  • Introduction to the OSI Model
  • Introduction to IPv4 (Internet Protocol)
  • IPv4 Packet Header
  • Address Resolution Protocol (ARP)
  • Introduction to TCP and UDP
  • TCP Header
  • TCP Window Size Scaling
  • Introduction to ICMP
  • Introduction to DNS
  • Introduction to Cisco Command Line Interface (CLI)
  • User mode and Privileged mode
  • IPV 6

2)    Network Access  :-                                  20% weight in exam

  • LAN
  • VLANs and Trunks
  • Spanning-Tree
  • Wireless

 3)  IP Connectivity   :-                                  25% weight in exam 

  • Introduction
  • Interpret the components of routing table
  • Determine how a router makes a forwarding decision by default
  • IPv4 Sub-netting
  • Configuration and verify ipv4 and ipv6 static routing
  • Configuration and verify single area OSPFv2
  • OSPF in detail and LSA Types
  • DR/BDR
  • Gateway Redundancy

 4) IP Service :-                                              10% weight in exam 

  • DHCP
  • SNMP
  • NAT
  • Configure Dynamic NAT and Port Address Translation (PAT)
  • Quality of Service (QoS)

5) Security Fundamentals :-                                     15% weight in exam 

  • Access-Lists
  • Configure and Verify IPv4 ACLs
  • Implement Numbered and Named IPv4 ACLs
  • Vpn
  • Dhcp snooping,Arp inspection
  • Layer 2 Security Features

6) Automation & Programming :-                           10% weight in exam  

  • Introduction to Software Defined Networking (SDN)
  • Introduction to SDN OpenDaylight
  • Device Programmability
  • Data Models and Structures
  • Configuration Management Tools and Version Control Systems
  • Introduction to SD-Access

How to get Certification?

By taking and passing a single exam – CCNA 200-301 one can get CCNA Certification. To take the CCNA exam you have to schedule a test appointment through Pearson VUE, an electronic testing company. Pearson VUE has many authorized testing centers throughout the world and you can locate a test center in your vicinity. The exams lasts for 120 minutes. After finishing the test you will immediately get the results.